U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Guide to Common Cooking Measurements

Teaspoons, tablespoons, and cups are common volume measurements found in recipes. The two most commonly used units of weight measurement for cooking are the ounce and the pound.

Do not confuse "weight" and "volume" measurements: for example, the ounce of weight with the fluid ounce. They are different measures, and weight is measured on a scale whereas volume is measured using the correct dry or liquid measuring cup. (Measuring spoons, however, can be used for both dry and liquid measurements.)

Below is guidance on some common cooking measurements–and their equivalents–found in the Keep the Beat™ recipes.

Teaspoon–Tablespoon–Cup Measurement Equivalents

3 teaspoons = 1 tablespoon

12 teaspoons = 4 tablespoons = ¼ cup

24 teaspoons = 8 tablespoons = ½ cup

48 teaspoons = 16 tablespoons = 1 cup

Cup–Pint–Quart Measurement Equivalents

1 cup = 8 fluid ounces

2 cups = 1 pint

4 cups = 2 pints = 1 quart

16 cups = 8 pints = 4 quarts = 1 gallon

Keep the Beat is a trademark of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.